Jeep Grand Cherokee I (ZJ) (1991-1999) – batteries

Jeep Grand Cherokee in version I (ZJ) was produced in the years 1991 - 1999. We invite you to a list of batteries matching individual engine versions.

Basic parameters of batteries suitable for Jeep Grand Cherokee (1991-1999):

LayoutTerminal typesBase hold-down
1 - positive on the left side1B9
1 - positive on the left side1B13
1 - positive on the left side1B01
As you can see, in case of Jeep Grand Cherokee, even the basic parameters of the batteries (battery layout, terminal types and base hold-down) are not identical for all engine versions. For this reason, care must be taken to match the battery to a specific engine.

Jeep Grand Cherokee I (ZJ) - petrol engines:
4.0 i 4x4
4.0 Laredo
5.2 4x4
5.2 i 4x4
5.2 Limited 4x4
5.9 i 4x4

Brand and seriesModelCapacityCold Cranking AmpsDimensionsBase Hold-DownPrice
Bosch S4S40 2770 Ah630 A261x175x220 mmB01More
Exide ExcellEB70570 Ah540 A270x173x222 mmB9More
Exide PremiumEA75575 Ah630 A270x173x222 mmB9More
Varta Blue DynamicE2470 Ah630 A261x175x220 mmB01More
In the case of these petrol engines, we choose batteries in size 260x174x224 mm, 261x175x220 mm or 270x173x222 mm, which capacity exceeds 67 Ah. The weakest of these is the battery Exide Excell EB705 which capacity is 70 Ah and Cold Cranking Amps is 540 A. The most powerful battery is Exide Premium EA755 of a capacity 75Ah and Cold Cranking Amps: 630 A.

Jeep Grand Cherokee I (ZJ) - diesel engines:
2.5 TD 4x4
2.5 TD Laredo

Brand and seriesModelCapacityCold Cranking AmpsDimensionsBase Hold-DownPrice
Bosch S4S40 0974 Ah680 A278x175x190 mmB13More
Exide ExcellEB74174 Ah680 A278x175x190 mmB13More
Varta Blue DynamicE1274 Ah680 A278x175x190 mmB13More
These diesel engines should work with batteries of dimensions 278x175x190 mm, which capacity is minimum 71 Ah. All the batteries in the above list have the same capacity 74Ah and Cold Cranking Amps: 680 A. All of the above motors have a base hold-down B13.

See also information about other cars of this manufacturer

Jeep Cherokee II (XJ) (1984-2001)
Jeep Cherokee III (KJ) (2001-2008)
Jeep Cherokee IV (KK) (2008-2013)
Jeep Grand Cherokee II (WJ) (1999-2004)
Jeep Grand Cherokee III (WK) (2005-2010)
Jeep Grand Cherokee IV (WK2) (2010-)
Jeep Wrangler I (YJ) (1987-1995)
Jeep Wrangler II (TJ, LJ) (1997-2007)
Jeep Wrangler III (JK) (2007-)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.